Questions About Your DUI?
Now Available: New law took effect on January 1, 2009
Even if your license is suspended pursuant to a Washington State DUI arrest or conviction, you will probably still be able to drive with an "IIL".
Call now to learn more about your options.
Ignition Interlock Driver License (IIL)
Washington State recently enacted a new law that allows those accused or convicted of drunk driving to maintain their driving privileges in most cases. It is typically referred to as the new "Ignition Interlock Driver's License" (IIL).
This license allows you to drive vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device while your regular license is suspended or revoked for an arrest or a conviction resulting from an alcohol-related Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUI) or Physical Control incident.
The ignition interlock device will not allow the vehicle to be started if it detects alcohol on your breath. The device may also require additional “rolling retests” while the vehicle is being driven.
Here are the basic requirements:
To be eligible for an IIL, your driving record must show that:
- You have been arrested for, or convicted of, an alcohol-related DUI or Physical Control.
- You have had a valid driver license.
- You haven’t been convicted of vehicular assault or vehicular homicide within 7 years before the incident for which you are requesting an IIL.
- Your current suspension or revocation isn’t for, or doesn’t include, Minor in Possession, Reckless Driving reduced from an alcohol-related DUI, Vehicular Assault, Vehicular Homicide, or Habitual Traffic Offender.
While driving with an IIL, you must maintain an interlock device on all vehicles you drive, including employer’s vehicles you drive during work hours. You cannot drive a commercial motor vehicle while you have an IIL.
If you drive vehicles owned by your employer during work hours, the vehicles must be equipped with an interlock device. However, this requirement may be waived if your employer signs an Employer Declaration for Ignition Interlock Waiver. You must send us a copy of the signed declaration before you drive your employer’s vehicles, and you must carry a copy of the declaration with you whenever you drive a work vehicle that isn’t equipped with an interlock device.
Getting an IIL
If your license has been suspended or revoked by the Department of Licensing
Starting January 1, 2009, you may apply for an IIL at any time, including after being arrested or after your revocation hearing. When you get an IIL:
- you waive the right to a hearing on your license suspension or revocation.
- you must maintain an interlock device on all vehicles you drive for the remainder of the period of your suspension.
If you have been convicted in court of an alcohol-related DUI
Starting January 1, 2009, the court must order you to apply for an IIL. If you don’t own a vehicle, aren’t eligible to receive an IIL, or ignition interlock devices aren’t available in your area, the court may waive the IIL requirement and order you to undergo alcohol monitoring for the same period of time the interlock device would have been required.
|If the court…||You must maintain an ignition interlock device for…|
|Granted you deferred prosecution for an alcohol-related incident||2 years|
|Convicted you of DUI or Physical Control|
How to apply for an IIL
- Install an ignition interlock device in every vehicle you drive. The installer will send us proof that the devices have been installed.
- Get proof of financial responsibility, such as a Certificate of Insurance (SR-22). An insurance agent can help you with this requirement.
- Complete an Ignition Interlock Driver License Application.
- Submit your completed application with a check or money order for the application fee:
- in person at any driver licensing office.
- by mail to:Driver Records
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9048
Olympia, WA 98507-9048
We will let you know in writing if your application has been approved or denied.
Fees and costs
You are responsible for paying all the IIL fees and interlock device costs, including:
- the cost of installing, leasing, and removing an ignition interlock device.
- the cost of maintaining proof of financial responsibility (usually as an insurance certificate).
- the IIL application fee (non-refundable).
- the monthly Ignition Interlock Device Revolving Account fee used to help low-income drivers with the cost of an interlock device.
Help for low-income drivers
You may be eligible for assistance if you cannot afford to pay the costs of installing, leasing, and removing an ignition interlock device in the vehicles you drive. To apply for financial help, complete and submit an Ignition Interlock Device Financial Worksheet. You may apply once each year.
Frequently asked questions
Do I have to tell my employer I am required to use an ignition interlock device?
Only if you must drive vehicles owned by your employer as part of your job. Your employer must sign a declaration that you are required to drive the vehicle during work hours before you can drive legally.
If I was convicted of an alcohol-related DUI, can I get an Occupational/Restricted License instead of an IIL?
No, you may drive only if you have an IIL and an interlock device installed on your car. The Occupational/Restricted License (ORL) isn’t available to drivers who have been convicted of DUI.
What if I own more than one vehicle?
You must install an interlock device in all the cars you drive, but aren’t required to install one in all the cars you own. If you prefer, you may install an interlock device in one of your vehicles and drive only that vehicle while your license is suspended.
The information provided on this page is from the Washington State Department of Licensing website.